FO Friday: A Tale of Two (Pairs of) Socks


We all know my Friday is an ever-shifting day, right? It’s summer, I have to concept of time, etc. etc. Good.

But now I’ve gone literary about some socks. Let me halt that existential tangent before I have a 50,000 word post about Socks vs. socks.

The Long Drawn-Out Pair

This pair was born in May, in-between grading papers and exams and grew into nearly knee-highs.

Twisted Limone Tangy Sock is lovely to work with and the Midnight Swimming was the cabin reminder I needed to get me through the semester. The stripes were wonderfully addicted and there were several times when “just one more stripe” became an entire five-row repeat. I love yarn like this; fortunately I have another skein. (It was one of those Etsy purchases where I thought I’d see what the big “buy in under two minutes” rush was about. *shrugs*)

An afterthought heel doesn’t intimidate me, but putting one in during fading light and on a boat with three people fishing… Yeah, challenge accepted.

I was also stupid enough to do the heel on a navy blue stripe and not put in waste yarn. Also! (Yeah,  there is more.) I played yarn chicken and barely won.

document_upload22573-0_medium2

Perhaps I should rename these socks NerdyinPlaid Makes Questionable Decisions.

Cast on: May 14, 2014
Finished: July 25, 2014

72 Hour Socks (aka Miracle Socks)

image_medium2These were the complete opposite. I started on Sunday night after a wonderfully exhausting weekend at the cabin.

I dearly love indie-dyed yarns and support them often, but if you will have to pry Patons Kroy out of my cold dead hands.

I adore these heavy fingering weight and am heart-broken Michael’s no longer carries it (no instant fix).

Anyway, I seem to knit faster with this yarn. The larger needle (US 1.5 vs. the US 0 used above) probably helps, but I don’t care.

Mean Green Stripes is such a fun color way! The stripes are defined and consistent (which sometimes doesn’t occur with Kroy). By Wednesday afternoon, the heels were completed.

And another miracle happened: the stripes matched. Completely matched. No fraternal socks here. Commercial yarn never does this for me (without me making it happen.)

I love these socks. There be another pair (different colorway) already on the needles.

Cast on: July 20, 2014
Finished: July 23, 2014

Aside: My 2014 sock knitting total is nine pairs. I’m happily surprised.

This entry was posted in Finish or Frog Friday, Stashdown2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to FO Friday: A Tale of Two (Pairs of) Socks

Leave a comment