FO Friday: Ravellenics Style

I finished my Ravellenics project! I accomplished something this month!

I was allowed to cast on one thing to participate in the excitement of the Games. Martina Behm’s Hitchhiker was a pattern I had admired for awhile and after I ripped out a Zauberball sock (loved yarn; couldn’t bear to make another sock out of single ply), decided it, paired with a plain black fingering weight, would be perfect.

The pattern isn’t hard; “easy to memorize” was a requirement for my Ravellenic project.  I enjoy how Behm writes her patterns because she uses percentage system so that you don’t have to rely on yardage. This makes it perfect if you have one skein of beautiful hand-dyed yarn and nothing to match it.

The finished product has 32 teeth and is drapey and huge (it wraps around my neck three times). I love it! Were I to double up my yarn again, I’d choose a laceweight  to go with the Zauberball since it is a light fingering. The black sock yarn overwhelms it a little bit; the colors would pop more if the solid color wasn’t so thick. Not ripping this out though.

Cast on: February 7, 2014
Finished: February 11, 2014
Blocked: February 20, 2014. I wanted to wear it today.

This entry was posted in 5K Stash Dash, Finish It February, Finish or Frog Friday, Stashdown2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment