WIP-ed Wednesday: The Socks that Never End

And if a certain song is now stuck in your head, you know how I feel about these socks at the moment. The alternative name for these socks is The Longest 437 Yards of My Life. (Clearly I’m not a runner.) My socks are normally 300-350 yards, so tacking on an extra 100 yards? Yeah, I feel it.

I may be given to hyperbole toward the end of a long project.

image_medium2 These socks have been on the needles since May, nearly two months. Also, they are on US 0 needles and will be nearly knee-high when done. (If I ever get done.)

See the safety pins on the second navy stripe? They mark where the afterthought heel belongs. See the rest of that sock? It’s tall. At least I’m finally on the ribbing. The taller the socks are, the more ribbing I put on. It helps them stay up when I wait for a bus during the polar vortex. I think there are two more stripes until I can bind off.

But I shall persevere. When this project is complete, I will have won (or “won”) Stash Dash. That and four stripes a day on my to-do list (right between “laundry” and “dishes”) are my motivation.

image_medium2-1 And see that ball? It’s the Never-Shrinking Ball–it never gets smaller. I’m knitting several stripes a night, but the ball isn’t diminishing. Sigh.

I do love the stripes though. How can I not love self-striping socks? Especially ones that match?

I shall be strong and make it through this project and fall madly in love with the FO.

This entry was posted in Stashdown2014, WIP, WIP-ed Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment